After three weeks of intensive training, head coach of the Flamingos, Bankole Olowookere, has selected a list of 21 players for this year’s FIFA U-17 Women’s World Cup in India.

The Flamingos are in Group B with Germany, Chile and New Zealand.

The seventh U-17 Women’s World Cup holds in India from October 11 to 30.

Olowookere invited 35 players to the Abuja camp in preparation for the World Cup, but 14 players failed to make the final list for the tournament

On the list is captain Alvine Dah-Zossu, midfield jewel Taiwo Afolabi and top scorer Opeyemi Ajakaye.

There is also first-choice goalkeeper Faith Omilana, defenders Comfort Folorunsho, Blessing Sunday and Miracle Usani, midfielders Blessing Emmanuel and Chidera Okenwa, and forwards Omowunmi Bello and Yetunde Ayantosho.

Players and officials are scheduled to depart Nigeria on Monday September 26 for a 10-day training camp in Turkey, before the delegation will jet off to India from Istanbul on October 6.

Matches of this year’s U-17 Women’s World Cup will take place at the Kalinga Stadium in Bhubaneswar, Pandit Jawarharlal Nehru Stadium in Goa and the DY Patil Stadium in Navi Mumbai.

Nigeria’s first match of the campaign is against Germany in Goa Oct 11. The Flamingos will then square up to New Zealand three days later, also in Goa, before flying to Bhubaneswar to take on Chile Oct 17.

Since the competition began in New Zealand 14 years ago, Nigeria has only once been absent – from the 2018 finals in Uruguay.


Goalkeepers: Faith Omilana; Linda Jiwuaku; Jessica Inyiama

Defenders: Olamide Oyinlola; Josephine Edafe; Comfort Folorunsho; Miracle Usani; Tumininu Adeshina; Blessing Sunday; Alase Attervall; Immaculata Offiong

Midfield: Chidera Okenwa; Blessing Emmanuel; Mary Aderemi; Bisola Mosaku; Taiwo Afolabi

Forward: Omowunmi Bello; Opeyemi Ajakaye; Edidiong Etim; Alvine Dah-Zossu, and Yetunde Ayantosho


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.